What is a chakra? A Brief Introduction to the 7 Major Chakras


What is a chakra? How can you use your chakras for optimal health? How do you know if a chakra is blocked? The chakra system can tell you a lot about your blockages and general health. In this article you will get a brief introduction to the seven main chakras, with tips for balancing these chakras.

Some can dream the chakras , but for others these energies are virgin territory. I myself had heard of the heart chakra and also of the solar plexus, but I didn’t know exactly where the solar plexus was! Until I discovered that the solar plexus and the solar plexus are one and the same chakra…

There are seven main chakras in our body and each holds a wealth of information about the energy within ourselves and the energy around us. The chakras connect our body with the higher and the earthly, through which energy flows through our body. I see it as a river in our body. When the river can flow without blockages, the river of life flows within us. There is a lot to discover about chakras. As you learn more about it, you will see that everything is connected to everything. Like health, seasons, relationships.

There are lists in which the composition of the seven chakras is slightly different, but these are the most frequently mentioned:

1. Root Chakra

Where: On the underside of the spine, near the tailbone.

This is where the root of our existence resides, our right to exist. But also your sense of failure or of being successful. When the energy of the root chakra flows freely, it helps to navigate life changes. It gives us inner strength.

2. Sacral Chakra

Where: around the pelvis, near the sacrum

This chakra expresses our hunger for food, sex and pleasure. It is important not to give in too much to this hunger, but we should also not withhold ourselves too much. The trick is to find a balance in this and learn to give the body what it needs. The sex chakra teaches us to feel entitled to something, without guilt, but with pleasure.


3. Solar Plexus Chakra, Solar Plexus Chakra or Navel Chakra

Where: around the stomach area

Our self-esteem, our identity, develops from this chakra. It shows us how we make social connections. With ourselves, but also with the world around us. This chakra has to do with self-esteem, trust, but also fear of rejection.

Read more about the solar plexus chakra:

4. Heart Chakra

Where: on the chest, near the heart

The heart chakra is the place of unconditional love. An everlasting and all-embracing universal love for ourselves and for the world around us. When we can experience that, we experience a positive energy in everything around us.


5. Throat Chakra

Where: around the throat

The throat chakra invites us to express ourselves, our qualities. Creativity blossoms when the throat chakra is open. It also teaches us to stand up for what we believe in. The throat chakra will close with sadness and fearful events. The development of the throat chakra often comes later in life.


6. Forehead Chakra or Third Eye Chakra

Where: between the eyebrows

The forehead chakra is the place of clear thinking, clear seeing. It teaches us to see the big picture and makes us question whether what we believed to be true is actually true. It is the chakra of wisdom and insights.

7. Crown Chakra or Crown Chakra

Where: on top of the head

Spiritual energy enters us through the crown chakra. This is where the light comes in and flows to all the other chakras, toward the Earth. The crown chakra is of enlightenment, of spiritual growth. Man is between the heavenly and the earthly. In this way we have united the best of both worlds in ourselves.


Other chakras

Many spiritual movements and peoples believe that our bodies have energy centers called chakras. These seven main chakras with the rainbow colors are the most well known, but there are many more chakras. For example, read in this article about two chakras from Laika shamanism : the architect of your body and the matrix of the cosmos.

Chakras in balance

These articles can help you balance your chakras:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here